Back to top

CCI Doctoral Students & Alumni

You are here

Meet our doctoral students below and learn more about them by viewing our Graduate Student Spotlights. You will notice that our doctoral students are very productive, and they join us from all over the world as you can see by the map showing hometowns.

We have a strong alumni base and the graduates from our PhD program have taken positions all over the world, including Fulbright Scholar Fellowships. Our graduates have positions in universities and other organizations. You may view the list our PhD graduates' dissertation titles to learn more about their work. View our PhD Alumni Spotlights to learn more about our alumni.

Meet Our Current PhD Students

Picture Name Position E-mail
Khaled Alkandari's picture Khaled Alkandari PhD Student School of Advertising & Public Relations kalkanda@vols.utk.edu
Rebecca Anderson's picture Rebecca Anderson PhD Candidate School of Information Sciences rander32@utk.edu
Robert Anderson's picture Robert Anderson PhD Student
Graduate Research Assistant
School of Information Sciences rander39@utk.edu
Umana Anjalin's picture Umana Anjalin Co-Teacher, Social Media (ADPR 461/561), School of Advertising and Public Relations, UTK, USA
Graduate Teaching Assistant, MS Program, CCI, UTK, USA
Assistant Professor, Department of Business Administration, University of Asia Pacific, Bangladesh
School of Advertising & Public Relations uanjalin@vols.utk.edu
Nicole Arrowood's picture Nicole Arrowood PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences nicolearrowood@utk.edu
Frank Pancho Aviles's picture Frank Aviles PhD Candidate
La SCALA Fellow
School of Information Sciences faviles@vols.utk.edu
John Baker's picture John Baker PhD Student School of Journalism & Electronic Media jbaker66@vols.utk.edu
Regina Beach-Bertin's picture Regina Beach-Bertin PhD Student School of Information Sciences rbeach1@vols.utk.edu
Brandon Boatwright PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations bboatwr1@vols.utk.edu
Andrew Brown's picture Andrew Brown PhD Student School of Advertising & Public Relations abrown36@vols.utk.edu
Betsy Byrne's picture Betsy Byrne PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations bbyrne1@vols.utk.edu
Alexander Carter School of Advertising & Public Relations
Lisa Christian PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences lchrist2@utk.edu
Dawn Corwin's picture Dawn Corwin PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media dcorwin1@vols.utk.edu
Monique Freemon's picture Monique Freemon PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
Graduate Research Assistant
School of Journalism & Electronic Media mfreemo1@vols.utk.edu
Meredith Goins's picture Meredith Goins PhD Student School of Information Sciences mgoins2@vols.utk.edu
LaVerne Gray's picture LaVerne Gray PhD Candidate
Graduate Research Assistant, Educational Advancement Program
School of Information Sciences lgray7@vols.utk.edu
Melissa Greene-Blye's picture Melissa Greene-Blye PhD Candidate
Lecturer
School of Journalism & Electronic Media mgreeneb@vols.utk.edu
Jamie Greig's picture Jamie Greig PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
Senate Chair & CCI PHD Representative, UTK Graduate Student Senate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media jgreig@utk.edu
Shiela Hawkins's picture Shiela Hawkins PhD Student School of Journalism & Electronic Media shawkin8@vols.utk.edu
Li-Min Huang's picture Li-Min Huang PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences lhuang23@vols.utk.edu
Monica Ihli Research Associate III
PhD Student
Center for Information & Communication Studies mihli1@utk.edu
Monica Ihli Research Associate III
PhD Student
School of Information Sciences mihli1@utk.edu
Charli Kerns's picture Charli Kerns PhD Student
Graduate Research Assistant
Graduate Teaching Assistant
School of Journalism & Electronic Media ckerns@vols.utk.edu
Minsoo Kim PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations mkim41@vols.utk.edu
Anna Kochigina's picture Anna Kochigina PhD Student School of Advertising & Public Relations akochigi@vols.utk.edu
P Judy Li's picture Pui-yi Judy Li PhD Candidate
Associate Professor/Business Librarian - Hodges Library
School of Information Sciences pli9@utk.edu
Joseph Lybarger PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies jlybarge@vols.utk.edu
Kevin J. Mallary's picture Kevin J. Mallary PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences kmallary@utk.edu
Jim Malone's picture Jim Malone PhD Candidate School of Information Sciences jmalone4@utk.edu
Abhijit Mazumdar's picture Abhijit Mazumdar PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media amazumda@vols.utk.edu
Dennis McCarty's picture Dennis McCarty PhD Student School of Communication Studies dmccar11@vols.utk.edu
Brandy Mmbaga's picture Brandy Mmbaga PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies bmmbaga@vols.utk.edu
Jamie Osborn's picture Jamie Osborn PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies josbor23@vols.utk.edu
Michelle Parker's picture Michelle Parker PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences mparke48@vols.utk.edu
Danielle Pollock's picture Danielle Pollock PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences dpolloc2@vols.utk.edu
Ivonne Ramirez's picture Ivonne Ramirez La SCALA PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Information Sciences iramirez@utk.edu
Cassandra Ray's picture Cassandra Ray PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies cmellon2@vols.utk.edu
Darina Sarelska's picture Darina Sarelska School of Journalism & Electronic Media
Scott Sikes's picture Scott Sikes PhD Student School of Information Sciences esikes@vols.utk.edu
David Sims's picture David Sims PhD Student School of Information Sciences dsims7@utk.edu
Priyanki Sinha's picture Priyanki Sinha PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Assistant
School of Information Sciences psinha2@utk.edu
Jason Smethers's picture Jason Smethers PhD Student School of Communication Studies jsmether@utk.edu
Jason Stamm's picture Jason Stamm PhD Student
Graduate Research/Teaching Associate
School of Journalism & Electronic Media jstamm1@utk.edu
Iman Tahamtan's picture Iman Tahamtan Ph.D. Student, Graduate Teaching Associate School of Information Sciences tahamtan@vols.utk.edu
Jenilee Williams's picture Jenilee Williams PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Communication Studies jwill366@vols.utk.edu
Ying Xiong's picture Ying Xiong PhD Candidate
Graduate Teaching Associate
School of Advertising & Public Relations yxiong7@vols.utk.edu
Xu Zhang's picture Xu Zhang PhD Student
Graduate Teaching Assistant
School of Journalism & Electronic Media xzhan104@vols.utk.edu