Back to top

CCI Faculty

College of Communication & Information
Name Position E-mail
Suzie Allard CCI Associate Dean for Research;
CCI Director of Center for Information & Communication Studies;
Professor
sallard@utk.edu
Michael Palenchar CCI Associate Dean for Academic Affairs;
Associate Professor
mpalench@utk.edu
Sam Swan CCI Director of Internationalization and Outreach;
Professor
samswan@utk.edu
Michael Wirth CCI Dean;
Professor
mwirth@utk.edu
School of Advertising & Public Relations
Name Position E-mail
Robyn Blakeman Associate Professor rblakema@utk.edu
Courtney Carpenter Childers Associate Professor;
Executive Director, Adam Brown Social Media Command Center
childers@utk.edu
Moonhee Cho Assistant Professor mcho4@utk.edu
Elizabeth Avery Foster Associate Professor ejavery@utk.edu
Eric Haley Professor haley@utk.edu
Mariea Hoy DeForrest Jackson Professor mhoy@utk.edu
Michael Lee Kent Professor mkent3@utk.edu
Sally McMillan Professor sjmcmill@utk.edu
Michael Palenchar CCI Associate Dean for Academic Affairs;
Associate Professor
mpalench@utk.edu
Maureen Taylor Director;
Beaman Professor
MaureenTaylor@utk.edu
Ron Taylor Professor retaylor@utk.edu
Candace White Professor white@utk.edu
School of Communication Studies
Name Position E-mail
Jenny Crowley Assistant Professor jcrowle3@utk.edu
John Haas Director;
Associate Professor
jhaas1@utk.edu
Michael Kotowski Associate Professor mkotowsk@utk.edu
Virginia Kupritz Associate Director;
Professor;
Inaugural William H. Swain Professor
ginger1@utk.edu
Laura Miller Associate Professor lmille41@utk.edu
Emily A. Paskewitz Assistant Professor epaskewi@utk.edu
Joan Rentsch Professor jrentsch@utk.edu
Michelle Violanti Associate Professor violanti@utk.edu
DaJung (DJ) Woo Assistant Professor dwoo@utk.edu
Courtney N. Wright Associate Professor cwright@utk.edu
School of Information Sciences
Name Position E-mail
Suzie Allard CCI Associate Dean for Research;
CCI Director of Center for Information & Communication Studies;
Professor
sallard@utk.edu
Dania Bilal Professor dania@utk.edu
Wade Bishop Associate Professor bbisho13@utk.edu
Rachel Fleming-May SIS Director of Graduate Studies;
Associate Professor
rf-m@utk.edu
Carolyn Hank Assistant Professor chank@utk.edu
Diane Kelly Director;
Professor
dianek@utk.edu
Donald King Adjunct Professor
Bharat Mehra Associate Professor bmehra@utk.edu
David Nicholas Adjunct Professor
Devendra Potnis Associate Professor dpotnis@utk.edu
Line Pouchard Adjunct Professor;
Senior Researcher, Brookhaven National Laboratory
Vandana Singh SIS Director of Undergraduate Studies;
Associate Professor
vandana@utk.edu
Steve Smith Dean of UT Libraries;
Professor
ssmit216@utk.edu
Carol Tenopir Chancellor's Professor;
Board of Visitors Professor
ctenopir@utk.edu
Peiling Wang Professor peilingw@utk.edu
Cindy Welch Clinical Associate Professor;
Coordinator of Youth Services;
Associate Director, The Center for Children's & Young Adult Literature
cwelch11@utk.edu
Bruce E. Wilson Adjunct Professor bwilso27@utk.edu
Xiaohua Zhu Assistant Professor xzhu12@utk.edu
School of Journalism & Electronic Media
Name Position E-mail
Julie Andsager Professor jandsage@utk.edu
Stuart N. Brotman Howard Distinguished Endowed Professor of Media Management and Law;
Beaman Professor of Communication and Information
sbrotman@utk.edu
Ed Caudill Professor ccaudill@utk.edu
Nicholas Geidner Associate Professor ngeidner@utk.edu
Gloria Greenfield Honorary Artist in Residence
Peter Gross Professor pgross@utk.edu
Mark D. Harmon Professor mdharmon@utk.edu
Rob Heller Professor rheller@utk.edu
Barbara Kaye Professor bkk@utk.edu
Bob Legg Associate Professor BobLegg@utk.edu
Mark Littmann Hill Chair of Excellence in Science Writing;
CCI Board of Visitors Professor
littmann@utk.edu
Catherine Luther Director;
Professor
cluther@utk.edu
Michael Martinez Assistant Professor mtmartinez@utk.edu
Amber Roessner Associate Professor aroessne@utk.edu
Sam Swan CCI Director of Internationalization and Outreach;
Professor
samswan@utk.edu
Erin Whiteside Associate Professor ewhites2@utk.edu
Michael Wirth CCI Dean;
Professor
mwirth@utk.edu
Center for Information & Communication Studies
Name Position E-mail
Suzie Allard CCI Associate Dean for Research;
CCI Director of Center for Information & Communication Studies;
Professor
sallard@utk.edu